The Art of helping Others

Is helping others an Art? Ofcourse not! At least not in the common meaning of the word art. This would probably lead to the question; why is this post titled “the art of helping others”?

Yesterday afternoon, after my visit to the National Bloodbank where I am one of the 5500 voluntary blood donors of Suriname it struck me how much we can do to help others.

But still we do so little.

As crazy as it sounds, sometimes it seems like helping others is an Art, at least for some people. For some people helping others is something you do when you have a lot of spare time, or something that just someone else should do. And then you have the few who only help others because of the exposure or because of the potential benefit they expect to gain for it. For them, yes, helping others in an Art.

So this brought me to the point where, ofcourse, I looked at myself. I spent some time asking myself why I spent this much time on helping others, sometimes even putting the wants and needs of others before mine. The truth is that I can’t find one good reason why I do this, but at the same time I can’t find any reason not to do so either. Let’s be honest, I don’t have an abundance of spare time, not at all.
In fact my agenda is always so full (or seems to be) I sometimes ask myself how I manage to make time free for those friends and acquaintances that need some advice or some other kind of support, those nieces and nephews that need help with their homework or to squeeze some time to go to the bloodbank to donate some blood (after 3 years and 14 donations I’m still uncomfortable with that needle going into my arm).

Just like yesterday. In the morning I was heading to my office with a lot on my mind and a lot to do at the office when I saw a long time friend talking with someone. When he saw me he called upon me, so I pulled over. As soon as I got out of the car he started telling me about his recent situation; he just lost his job and didn’t know what to do. The lucky thing is that just the day before another friend of mine, who owns a small company told me that he was looking for a new employee. So I ended up taking my jobless friend to that other friend so they could have a talk. Ninety minutes later my jobless friend is smiling again, and so am I. For two reasons. The first is because once again I got to help out an friend in need and the second reason is that this visit ended up in a possible contract which may proof to be pretty lucrative in the future.

So did I help out my friend because of the gain I was expecting out of it? Not at all. But I do believe that whatever goes around comes around. In some way.

Sooner or later.

Just don’t wait for it and you’ll be surprised when it comes around.
Coming back to the title of this post ….please don’t let helping others be an art for you. Let is just be a part of you, flowing in your blood, something you just do automatically without even hesitating. Because when it will come around, it will all be worth it
.

Somehow, someday.

Leave a Reply

